aarinfantasy's YAOI Collection

"Guide to being a good GFX artist"?

1. darker hei
    darker hei
    I was wondering...

... with the "Guide to being a good customer" firmly in place, why isn't there an equivalent for the other side of the business deal?

There are several issues I've heard gfxers mention over the years that just really make me think it wouldn't be a bad idea to at least discuss what such points could be. This isn't something I think should be posted up, just talked about.

Here's what I don't understand...

Everybody starts somewhere. They make their first tags and unless they are pure geniuses, the likelihood is that those tags can be rather horrid. I know, I've been there (and occasionally still am >_<). However, I also didn't open up a shop and unleash my grave errors in taste on people until I studied and practiced up.

For instance... the basics... you know, colors, composition, rendering, usage of textures and effects, etc.

Now, if I do open up a shop without even bothering with those basics, I really don't think I have the right to b!tch about unworn tags, no rep, no tips... Sure, you're making something for free... but are you, really?
    Mind you, there is the exception of people who give advance warning of their lacking experience. In which case ayone who requests should have the decency to appreciate what they already knew they were getting into.
    I'm not saying I don't appreciate every thanks, rep, tip, card or whatever people have given me. And I agree that a total lack thereof is a slap in the face. But I think every gfxer who opens up a shop and expects that stuff should at least put some time in to improve their craft.