aarinfantasy's YAOI Collection

Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 54

Thread: Shields UP!

  1. #21
    Yaoi Devotee

    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    ~residing in marshmallow land~
    Posts
    930
    Points
    1,131,190
    Savings
    7,767,895


    Luffy (L8)Tsuna (L10)Luffy (L10)
    Giotto (L9)Shanks (L8)(S015) Ewon

    lol, archangel612, yeah, I'm using the standard MS firewall as well, and I got all green A bit shocking for me, but I'm glad XD

  2. #22
    Yaoi Amateur

    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Near Hannover/Germany
    Posts
    92
    Points
    1,136,461
    Savings
    221,567


    Sephiroth (L8)Sion (L9)Moonlight
    Nezumi (L8)Izaya (L3)Shizuo (L8)
    Just a question because I'm a bit afraid of doing this after getting this
    ->
    Greetings!

    Without your knowledge or explicit permission, the Windows networking technology which connects your computer to the Internet may be offering some or all of your computer's data to the entire world at this very moment!
    is THIS normal?!

  3. #23
    flaming tbag!


    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    a teacup ♥
    Posts
    2,352
    Points
    1,164,200
    Savings
    131,118,396


    Masamune (L10)Heart 3 (Pink)Yukimura SB (L10)
    Masamune (chibi) (L2)Yukimura Sanada (chibi) (L2)Kojuurou (chibi) (L2)

    Quote Originally Posted by Yoitechan View Post
    Just a question because I'm a bit afraid of doing this after getting this
    ->

    is THIS normal?!
    ^^ That is simply the greeting on the website - this is displayed before you even run the scan, so don't let it freak you out. Have you actually run the scan yet?

    If you run the scan, what you will be given are blocks of green, blue or red.

    Green blocks mean that the port in question is stealthy - it is a ninja. ^_- This means that when the test attempted to communicate with the port in question, not only could it not breach the port, it literally could not "find" it. That is because the port in question did not send any information back to the test - therefore, the test can't determine whether or not the port is even there. Think of it this way - a sales person is trying to contact you via phone. If you never pick up the phone when they call, they can't determine whether or not you're even there.

    Blue means that the test was unable to breach the port in question. The difference between blue and green is that the port communicated back to the test that it was blocked. Now the test knows that it exists, but is protected. That's like the sales person calling you, and you picking up the phone, but telling them you're not interested. This is only concerning if someone or something especially determined is after your computer. Since they know the port exists, they could potentially increase their efforts to breach it. However, for the casual internet user, this isn't a huge concern.

    Red means that the test was able to breach the port in question. It knows it's there, and the port allowed whatever information it was sending to go through. This doesn't necessarily mean you're in danger - depends on what you're running at the time. But it's something to look into.


    (mine were all green. gogo ninja!computer)

  4. #24
    Yaoi Amateur
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Yaoiland
    Posts
    24
    Points
    403,970
    Savings
    124,128


    Hope (L9)Kurama (L7)Aoba (L2)
    Jounouchi (L7)Riku (L8)Duo (L5)
    My computer has apperently passed it's Chuunin exam. Go laptop!

    <.< weird, though. Since I'm only using a Linksys router, Avast anti-virus, and the pre-installed windows firewall. very very weird.

  5. #25
    Yaoi Devotee

    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Saint-Hubert, Qc
    Posts
    847
    Points
    6,308,730
    Savings
    2,933,513


    Itachi (L10)Loki (L9)Rufus (L9)
    Sasuke (L10)Loki (L10)Edward Kenway (L8)

    I got all green and I use the standard windows firewall too...

  6. #26
    Yaoi Amateur

    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Walsall, (イングランド) United Kingdom
    Posts
    69
    Points
    1,708,400
    Savings
    5,473,069


    (S022) Iason(S019) TinkleLloyd (L4)
    Zero (L9)Tony Stark (L10)Noctis (L8)
    How do you switch the ping off through windows vista....

  7. #27
    Yaoi Addict


    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Ethereal Horizons
    Posts
    467
    Points
    305,936,635
    Savings
    7,001


    Link (L7)Heart 1 (Red)Adol (L10)
    Pit (L7)(Event) IRC - CloudTrunks (L10)

    Quote Originally Posted by Furiae View Post
    How do you switch the ping off through windows vista....
    First, make sure you're not running any torrent program or filesharing software.... If it still happens, go to your router/modem to disable the port that is returning the Ping back when scanning. For that, go to a browser (IE/Firefox, whatever) and type the IP to your router. There should be an option to see what ports you have opened. If so, then close them. That should fix it.

    If still in doubts, can check THIS website to see how to disable ports in your router/modem.

    Edit: Another easier thing you can try is blocking your "WAN Ping" in your router/modem, if it has that option that is!
    __________________

    @everyone: Just remember that this scans just the first 1056 ports. If your sharing applications are using higher ports (which is common), this test does not scan those.
    PS: I just did a new scan once again after more than a year that I last did. I got green for all ports, yay!
    Last edited by Twilight; 05-12-2010 at 07:35 PM. Reason: Adding a tip!


  8. #28
    Yaoi Amateur

    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Walsall, (イングランド) United Kingdom
    Posts
    69
    Points
    1,708,400
    Savings
    5,473,069


    (S022) Iason(S019) TinkleLloyd (L4)
    Zero (L9)Tony Stark (L10)Noctis (L8)
    Quote Originally Posted by Twilight View Post
    First, make sure you're not running any torrent program or filesharing software.... If it still happens, go to your router/modem to disable the port that is returning the Ping back when scanning. For that, go to a browser (IE/Firefox, whatever) and type the IP to your router. There should be an option to see what ports you have opened. If so, then close them. That should fix it.
    Yay thank you.

  9. #29
    Yaoi Amateur
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    I dunno I'm lost again....
    Posts
    69
    Points
    2,100,000
    Savings
    2,175,391


    Kyouya (L3)KumaguroMiyagi (L5)
    Iwaki (L6)Dee (L3)Gojyo (L1)
    Your system has achieved a perfect "TruStealth" rating. Not a single packet — solicited or otherwise — was received from your system as a result of our security probing tests. Your system ignored and refused to reply to repeated Pings (ICMP Echo Requests). From the standpoint of the passing probes of any hacker, this machine does not exist on the Internet. Some questionable personal security systems expose their users by attempting to "counter-probe the prober", thus revealing themselves. But your system wisely remained silent in every way. Very nice.

    all is green ^__^

  10. #30
    Sleeping Beast

    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Roberto's bed! Hmm... Yummy!
    Posts
    1,304
    Points
    9,368,601
    Savings
    735,000


    Gakupo V (L4)Conrad (L4)Heart 4 (Icy)
    Randy (L1)Ryuuki (L2)Star 1 (Yellow)
    A tip for D-Link routers users. If some port is opened you need to use the Virtual Server feature and redirect the open port to a non-existent IP from your network. Looks stupid but I found that fix at D-Link's website and I did it here and worked.

 

 
Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •