aarinfantasy's YAOI Collection

Yaoi Veteran
    Savings

Minako (L2)Lightning (L8)Ryūko (L8)
    Celty (L4)Tifa (L1)Aqua (L1)
    Ryoji (L2)Theodore (L2)Hope (L9)

Enclosure for Desktop Hard Drive

Almost 4 years ago, I bought this Iomega Prestige Desktop Hard Drive:

Amazon.com: Iomega Prestige 1 TB USB 2.0 Desktop External Hard Drive 34275: Electronics

I only used it to back up my files and only really hooked it up to my PC a handful of times during that entire time. However it recently stopped working. It won't power on, I can't hear an whirring noises, my PC doesn't recognize it. Nothing at all.

So I'd like to remove the drive and try to put it into a new enclosure to see if all my files are alright or not. But I only recently found out about enclosures, and in general, I'm not good with tech stuff.

I'd like to know kind of enclosure I should get for this specific drive. I found a link with some info, but truthfully the important bits (i.e section 3) are going over my head :/

Guide to External Hard Drive Enclosures - SuperMediaStore.com

I was planning to buy a enclosure, but I don't want to waste a wad of money on something that isn't even compatible, so I'm kind of stumped. If anyone could point me in the right direction, I'd appreciate. Here's the store site I looked at first with some enclosures, so if there's one from there that seems appropriate (and cheap), I'd like to know.

http://www.futureshop.ca/en-CA/categ...270655541een01

Thanks~

Yaoi Amateur
    Savings

I hear ya, the same thing happened to my 3 year old laptop's HD. And before I took it out of the laptop I bought an enclosure that was the wrong size. D'oh! Best to refer to Lifehacker's guide Alpha Geek: Turn an old hard drive into an external drive like I did and then check out the hive five pick for best enclosure. The LH post mentioned HDs from notebooks and desktops; my guess is that the external drive is more like the desktops in size? Hope this helps!

Yaoi Lover

Savings