aarinfantasy's YAOI Collection

Translating and translators

1. SECU
    SECU
    What do you think about translating? Is it fun, a pain in the ass, very troublesome, enjoyable? It can be all of them depending on the time, ne? When did you start translating or when are you going to start? Do you want to be a professional translator (meaning do you want to earn your living with it) or is it just a hobby? Have you learned something while translating?^^ And so on, you can discuss about anything related to translating!

Reveal your secrects!
  2. Sound
    Sound
    Hi,

I'm a freelance translator. Its not my main job but I translate small things here and there, its more like a hobby I guess ^^.
    I work for an internet site called JaME where I translate from English to Dutch or the other way around. I'm not earning anything from it but it looks really nice on my CV. I have been working for them since 2008 or something and really like the team I'm working with. Atm I'm on hiatus because of my final year in University. But I hope to be back after that.

I'm always open for small jobs and have a wide range of topics I can translate. In the future I hope to be able to add Japanese as my 3rd fluent language and translate in three ways. But that's just a dream for now ^^
  3. SECU
    SECU
    @Sound ; WOW! That sounds good! I know the site JaME^^ If we're talking about the same site, it shares information about Japanese bands/ solo artists: their concert schedule and countries, interviews and so on?^^ Long time ago I found my favourite bands through that site so I respect them very much^^

As I said in one of my threads, hopefully, translating is just a hobby to me but I hope to become a professional translator one day

And lerning Japanese and being able to speak it fluently will be important and a good thing to know so I wish you luck on your learning! The world is internationalizing so the more languages you can speak the better^^