aarinfantasy's YAOI Collection

haelsyx

How to change xvid codec in an .avi

I'm fairly new to avisynth, avsp, and virtual dub, and have only the vaguest idea of how to script.

My main issue is I have a bunch of downloaded episodes which are dvd rips and high quality .avi's, but they're encoded with Xvid. I want to be able to change the codec to lagarith or huffyuv, and maintain the same quality.

I've already tried working with the videos in avsp but the error message reads: Couldn't locate a deompressor for fourcc xvid

I also tried using [freeware] Any Video Converter to convert the .avi file into an .avi with identical configurations except the codec, which had the huffyuv option. I imported this file into Sony Vegas and also dealt with it in Avisynth but in both places the same errors occur.

I'm a little lost and any help is appreciated And if I assumed something wrong, go ahead and call me an idiot because I've read way too many tuts without any progress.

haelsyx
    daniyagami, thanks for responding so quickly! ^^'

After skimming briefly through the links, I think my topic title is misunderstood. My original format is an .avi and I don't want to convert that. The codec it uses to play is xvid, and is what I want to change [into huffyyuv I think?]

Technically I want to convert an uneditable .avi into an editable .avi, and I don't care how much scripting or work is required I just need a guide somewhere that addresses it D: It's what I get for not going through the pain in the ass to actually rip DVDs

Extreme Yaoi Guru

Savings

DS_002_(1)topleftMeier Link (L9)DS_002_(5)bottommid
    Pain (L13)DS_002_(6)bottomright(Event) Forum - Levi
    RyukDS_002_(4)bottomleftCatbus

I'm confused. What exactly do you want to do?
    I'll give you an example.