aarinfantasy's YAOI Collection

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Adrienne

Operating System for older/newer BL games: Windows 7, XP and Vista

This is my first thread, so please be kind and tolerant

Do let me know if this issue has already been addressed, answered or isn't supposed to be posted here (I did a browse through the rest of the threads in this section and didn't find something quite similar, but if I'm wrong, I apologise in advance)

I am new to BL games, and already hooked.
    So far, I managed to download, set-up & play smoothly in my Vista Home premium edition Vaio laptop games like Hanamachi, Silver Chaos 2: Artificial Mermaid and Maid Hajimemashita.

However, despite day-long efforts to play games like Kichiku Megane, Kichiku Megane R and STEAL! in my laptop too, I failed miserably in going past the written dialogue-parts of the games to viewing the video parts like OP movies and such.
    I tried almost everything.
    I downloaded updates to games from the game site.
    I did a number of updates on my directx, both from Microsoft, and the ones prompted by the Japanese games during installation, so this might have been a huge screw up on my part. Currently, it says that I have version 10 installed. Anyway, I'm not experienced when it comes to gameplay using PCs, so I don't know if this an issue.
    I managed the change to Japanese language settings just fine, so I will bypass this as an issue.
    Daemon tools/Alcohol 120/Nero all worked just fine for me, whichever I used, so I'll bypass this issue too. I was able to write/install the games properly.

The thing is, I had the sudden epiphany to try and play the games in a windows XP computer (directx version 9c something, if it matters).
    They ran smoothly after I switched to Japanese language settings, I was able to view OP movie videos and such, and I even finished one...